Xmas can be stressful for all sorts of reasons, time pressures, financial pressure, family tensions, it may bring up sadness and grief or old family feuds can resurface.

To create unity this sometimes requires work. We are unable to change others but we can change our own response to the situation.

How do we make this a time of joy?

Let’s look to the Chakra System for help, specifically heart chakra known in Sanskrrit as Anahata chakra. In the chakra system there are seven energy centers that run up our spine within the subtle body (which is our non physical body measured as electromagnetic force fields).

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra and is located in the centre of the chest.

The heart chakra is responsible for love, compassion, and kindness, giving and receiving, everything that this time of year is meant to be about. Without this chakra in balance emotions such as insecurity, sadness, jealousy, greed and even hatred can arise.

I invite you to try the following simple meditation to work on your heart chakra.


Find 5 minutes alone

  • Get comfortable – either sitting or lying, close your eyes.
  • Start to inhale for the count of 4 and exhale for the count of 4.
  • On every inhalation expand the space around your heart, imagining it being bathed in a most beautiful green glowing light; on every exhalation completely soften any tension or tightness around the heart space.
  • Continue breathing and visualizing in this way for 5min.

Why this works

Breathing in this way activates the parasympathetic nervous system, which is where healing takes place. When we soften the space around our heart we release resistance and unblock any tight spots, this allows energy to flow more freely. When our heart chakra is open we are more accepting of reality and this reduces our own internal suffering.

Try it out and let me know if it works for you!

Have a fabulous festive season, and stay tuned…..the next post will be a yoga sequence to open your heart chakra.